An Ode to Crockpots: Paleo Pulled Pork Green Chili

Crockpot Pulled Pork Green Chili

Image

I love my crockpot so much right now, I had to write a haiku about it:

Turn on crockpot / Leave kitchen / Today you are a chef

If anyone ever says that they can’t cook anything without screwing it up, then they obviously haven’t used a crockpot. Because those babies are FOOL. PROOF. Think about it. Even if you realize you forgot an ingredient or set the temperature wrong, you have EIGHT HOURS to fix it! 

This is absolutely perfect for people who may or may not make hard boiled eggs when they’re drunk and then fall asleep while the eggs are steaming in the pot and then wake up wondering why their apartment smells like death and everything is smoky.  

Theoretically speaking. 

I’ll be honest, I fell off the paleo train a little bit last week. I was derailed by the mere presence of cheese and sour cream in my house, and found that I can’t be anywhere near ripe avocados with a spoon otherwise I will eat them ALL. Avocado, you are my paleo vice. 

Plus, while the first few pounds came off easily, I’ve quickly hit the dreaded weight loss plateau, which is usually the part where I give up and decide that life isn’t worth living unless I’m eating something like this bowl of ecstasy from Ace Biscuit & BBQ in Charlottesville: 

Image

 

Yes, that’s a biscuit with homemade breakfast sausage and pimiento cheese all piled atop the most perfectly crisped and seasoned hash browns I’ve ever had, hands down. About 5 seconds later I dug in with my fork and it all became a jumble of warm, southern comfort food heavy.

BUT, my friends, THAT is what I started this blog for! No one wants to read about me sitting in my living room daring myself not to give in to that Papa John’s special for the third week in a row.

I’m attempting to get back on the healthy-eating express this week with another recipe I found from PaleOMG: Crockpot Pulled Pork Chili. My favorite thing about this recipe is that there are only seven steps. SEVEN! I even threw it together before work this morning—this coming from the the girl who up until recently could not even get out of bed in time to do her hair for work, much less eat breakfast at home. Plus, it’s delicious! Especially with some avocado on top—in moderation, of course. Recipe after the jump!

Crockpot Paleo Pulled Pork Green Chili (adapted from PaleOMG)…except adapted from the version she has on Yummly, which is apparently totally different? Whoops. Too late now.)

Ingredients (HA, I remembered to take a picture before destroying my kitchen this time!)

Image

  • 2 lb pork roast (supposed to trim excess fat, forgot to do this. oops. filed away for next time)
  • 3 garlic cloves (I used 4 and minced them and HA forgot to put them in this photo)
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon white pepper
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 poblano pepper, sliced
  • 2 jalapeño peppers, sliced
  • 2 4oz cans of green chiles
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 teaspoon ground sage
  • 2 cups chicken broth

Instructions

1. Place pork roast in crock pot (SO EASY)

2. Place vegetables around the roast (STILL EASY)

3. Pour tomatoes and green chills over the roast (EVEN EASIER)

4. Add in spices and top off with chicken broth (DONE)

5. Cover and cook for 6-8 hours on low

6. Garnish with sliced avocado

NOTE: okay you guys, I’m really confused. Apparently the recipe on the PaleOMG website is different than the one on Yummly. Color me confused. HOWEVER, the chili still tasted great and had a nice kick to it. It’s up to you which recipe you try—the link will take you to the PaleOMG web version, this is the Yummly version. FOOD BLOGGER EXTRAORDINAIRE HERE, EVERYONE.

PS – If anyone has advice about how to stay positive when your weight-loss progress has plateaued, I’d love to hear it! Seriously. There is nothing more frustrating than feeling like you’ve been eating clean for three weeks but still having your pants not fit!

4 thoughts on “An Ode to Crockpots: Paleo Pulled Pork Green Chili

Leave a Reply

